Published: Friday, 5th May 2017

The result of the election of the first Greater Manchester Mayor has been announced.

Andy Burnham (Labour) has been voted into office.

The results are:

Candidate's surname: Other names: Description (if any): Number of first preference votes given for each candidate: Percentage (%) of first preference votes:
Anstee Sean Brian The Conservative Party Candidate 128,752 22.72%
Aslam Mohammad Independant 5,815 1.03%
Brophy Jane Elisabeth Liberal Democrats 34,334 6.06%
Burnham Andy Labour and Co-operative Party 359,352 63.41%
Farmer Marcus Jonathon Independant 3,360 0.59%
Morris Stephen English Democrats - "Putting England First!" 11,115 1.96%
Odze Shnuer Zalman UK Independance Party (UKIP) 10,583 1.87%
Patterson Will The Green Party 13,424 2.37%
Total number of first preference votes:     566,735  

Further details can be found at the Greater Manchester Combined Authority website .