Meetings of Executive Cabinet Members are not open to the press and public (in accordance with Section 13 of the Local Authorities (Executive Arrangements) (Meetings Access and Information) Regulations 2012). However, agendas and reports for these meetings are available via the Committee Management Information System.

Meetings of the Cabinet, Committees and Area Forums will be open to the press and public unless the nature of the business to be discussed is considered exempt as defined in schedule 12A of the Local Government Act 1972.

Those items considered confidential which will be considered by the Cabinet at its meeting will be advertised via the Council's Forward Plan (see Links Tab) and instructions as to how representations can be made as to why the matter should be considered in public are contained therein.

How decisions are made

(a) The Council:

The council is made up of all 60 councillors and it:

  • decides the constitution
  • agrees policy framework
  • agrees the budget 
  • appoints the Leader for a term determined by the council

(b) The Leader:

The leader determines the size of the cabinet and appoints members of the cabinet and determines the arrangements for delegation of the cabinet functions. The leader also appoints a member of the cabinet as a deputy leader who will act in the leader's absence.

(c) The Cabinet:

The cabinet is made up of the Leader of the Council, the Deputy Leader and eight Executive Cabinet Members.

Its main role is to:-

  • implement the policies agreed by the council  
  • give political leadership 
  • propose policy framework to the council
  • propose the budget to the council
  • make recommendations to the council on broad policy issues

Executive Cabinet Members

The leader and the other executive cabinet members:

  • work within an overall policy framework set by the council 
  • have individual responsibility for key areas of work known as portfolios  
  • are accountable for their decisions which they take either as individuals or as the collective cabinet

The executive cabinet members and their portfolios are as follows:

Executive Cabinet Members Deputies Portfolios
Councillor Mrs. Thomas 
(Leader of the Council)
Councillor Adia Strategy, External Relations, the Council’s Strategic Budget, Public Service Reform, Partnerships with Public, Private and Voluntary sectors at a strategic level and matters in relation to any portfolio for which the Leader is responsible at the Greater Manchester Combined Authority. 
Councillor Adia – Deputy Leader’s Portfolio Councillor Mrs. Thomas Skills, Development and Regeneration, Economic issues, Town Centres including the Town Centre Strategy and Land and Property
Councillor Peel 
(Environmental Services)
Councillor Mrs. Thomas Waste and Waste Collection, Regulatory, and Neighbourhood and Community Services
Councillor Donaghy 
(Strategic Housing and Planning)
Councillor Adia Strategic Housing and Planning
Councillor Zaman 
(Corporate Resources)
Councillor Adia Corporate Support Services, Financial Services and Budget Development, Cohesion, the Registration Services and the Coroner’s Service
Councillor Cunliffe 
(Children’s Services)
Councillor Mrs. Thomas Children’s Services including Looked After Children, Schools and Early Years
(Adult Social Care Health)
  Health and Wellbeing, Adult Social Care, Public Health, Mental Health and Bolton Cares
Councillor Chadwick 
(Highways and Transport)
Councillor Peel Highways and Transport
Councillor J. Byrne 
(Culture and Sport)
Councillor Peel Sports, Tourism, Libraries, Museums and Cultural Services  strategies
Councillor Watters 
(Community Issues)
Councillor Adia Voluntary Sector, Crime and Disorder and Community Safety and the Council’s Anti-Poverty strategies 

(d) Non-executive Councillors:

The remaining councillors are non-executive councillors and they:

  • represent their wards and hold surgeries as usual  
  • spend time in their area finding out what concerns people most  
  • take part in area forums helping to decide priorities
  • influence the key decision makers by proposing changes to policies or budgets 
  • help to choose how area budgets are spent
  • serve, with cabinet members, on committees for planning control and licensing and environmental regulations

(e) Area Forums:

The council has 18 area forums.

Area forums:

  • host informal sessions at each meeting to let the public question members and departmental managers and receive feedback  
  • decide local priorities 
  • allocate its own budget to small scale projects 
  • influence the council in the development and implementation of policy 

(f) Scrutiny Committees:

The council, at present, has three scrutiny committees:

  • Corporate and External Issues Scrutiny Committee
  • Environmental Services Scrutiny Committee
  • Children's Services Scrutiny Committee
  • Health Overview and Adult Services Scrutiny Committee

Scrutiny committees hold the cabinet to account by:

  • challenging policies and budget allocations  
  • challenging decisions made by portfolio holders  
  • recommending changes to decisions   
  • make recommendations to the cabinet/executive cabinet members
  • monitor and challenge performance
  • consider any councillor calls for action
  • working with partner authorities to improve local improvement targets

They can also create scrutiny panels which scrutinise issues in depth.

(g) Planning Committee:

Exercises the functions of the council as local planning authority.

(h) Licensing and Environmental Regulations Committee and its Sub-Committees:

Exercises the functions of the council relating to licensing matters and Environmental Regulations in respect of Environmental Protection, Environmental Health, Animal Health, Trading Standards and Consumer Protection.

(i) Standards Committee:

Promotes and maintains high standards of conduct by councillors, co-opted members and church and parent governor representatives.

(j) Audit Committee:

To consider corporate governance in relation to financial matters.

(k) Health and Wellbeing Board:

The local authority in conjunction with the Clinical Commissioning Group (CCG) and representatives from other organisations prepare Joint Strategic Needs Assessments and Joint Health and Wellbeing Strategies and encourage integrated working between health and social care commissioners.

To view the agendas, reports and minutes of any meetings of the above please go to the Committee Management Information System.