2013 / 2014

Autumn Term
Total 74 days in term
INSET day (Staff) Monday 2nd September 2013 (Local Authority directed day)
Term begins: Tuesday 3rd September 2013
Half Term: Monday 28th October to Friday 1st November 2013
Term ends: Friday 20th December 2013
Spring Term
Total 65 days in term
Term begins: Monday 6th January 2014
Half Term: Monday 17th February to Friday 21st February 2014
Term ends: Friday 11th April 2014
Bank Holiday: Good Friday 18th April 2014
Bank Holiday: Easter Monday 21st April 2014
Summer Term 
Total 58 days in term (57 for Primary Schools)
Term begins: Monday 28th April 2014
*Election day: Thursday 22nd May 2014 (Primary schools used as Polling Stations only)
Bank Holiday: Monday 5th May 2014
Bank Holiday: Monday 26th May 2014
Half term: Schools to allocate occasional days as required
Term ends: Friday 18th July 2014

ChildrenAdditional information

  • Children will be in school for 190 days
  • Staff will be in school for 195 days
  • 4 INSET days to be allocated during holiday periods
  • Local Council elections will take place on Thursday 22nd May 2014
    Primary Schools which are NOT used as Polling Stations may be open on this day
  • Occasional Days (Please see agreed guidelines)
    • Primary schools - 6 days to allocate as closure days
    • Secondary schools - 7 days to allocate as closure days
  • Autumn Term 2014 begins on Tuesday 2nd September 2014

School year regulations

Schools must open for 380 half-day sessions (190 days) in each school year, beginning with the first term to start after July.

The local authority (LA) is responsible for setting holiday and term dates for community and voluntary controlled schools. The term dates for foundation and voluntary aided schools are decided by their governing bodies.

If you wish to know term dates and holidays for a particular school please contact the school directly

You can also download term dates via the 'Downloads' tab, where you will also find advice about taking holidays in term time.

Governor Services Team

Bolton Science And Technology Centre

Minerva Road

Farnworth

Bolton

BL4 0HX

Telephone 01204 332114

Opening times

Times are displayed in a 24 hour format.

Open Close
Monday    
Tuesday    
Wednesday    
Thursday    
Friday    
Saturday    
Sunday    

Upcoming activities

Upcoming events