Term dates vary for each school, please check with the school for their holiday dates. 

2016 / 2017

Autumn Term
Total 74 days in term
INSET day (Staff) Monday 5th September 2016 (Local Authority directed day)
Term begins: Tuesday 6th September 2016
Half Term: Monday 24th October to Friday 28th October 2016
Term ends: Friday 23rd December 2016
Spring Term
Total 60 days in term
Term begins: Monday 9th January 2017
Half Term: Monday 20th February to Friday 24th February 2017
Term ends: Friday 7th April 2017
Bank Holiday: Good Friday 14th April 2017
Bank Holiday: Easter Monday 17th April 2017
Summer Term 
Total 63 days in term
Term begins: Monday 24th April 2017
Bank Holiday: Monday 1st May 2017
Bank Holiday: Monday 29th May 2017
Half term: Schools to allocate occasional days for this holiday
Term ends: Friday 21st July 2017

Children

Additional information

  • Children will be in school for 190 days
  • Staff will be in school for 195 days
  • 5 INSET days to be allocated during holiday periods
  • Local Council elections will take place on Thursday 5th May 2016.  Primary Schools which are NOT used as Polling Stations may be open on this day.
  • Occasional Days (Please see agreed guidelines) - schools to allocate 7 days as closure days, at their discretion.  Please contact individual schools for details.

Autumn Term 2017 will begin on Monday 4th September 2017

2017/2018 Term Dates

School year regulations

Schools must open for 380 half-day sessions (190 days) in each school year, beginning with the first term to start after July.

The council is responsible for setting holiday and term dates for community and voluntary controlled schools. The term dates for foundation and voluntary aided schools are decided by their governing bodies.

Advice about taking holidays in term time.

Policy & Strategy

1St Floor, Town Hall

Civic Centre

Bolton

BL1 1RU

Telephone 01204 332170
View map

Opening times

Times are displayed in a 24 hour format.

Open Close
Monday    
Tuesday    
Wednesday    
Thursday    
Friday    
Saturday    
Sunday    

Upcoming activities

Upcoming events