Bolton Council

Appointment of Members
To Committees and Scrutiny
Committees – 2025/2026

C. Appointment of Members to Committees and Scrutiny Committees

The Cabinet FOR INFORMATION

Executive Cabinet Members

Any Executive Cabinet

Member Can Deputise for
any Executive Cabinet

Member

Councillor Peel (Leader of the Council)

Councillor Zaman

- (Deputy Leader's Portfolio)

Councillor N. Ayub - (Culture)

Councillor Donaghy

- (Children's Services)

Councillor Fielding

- (Adults and Community Housing Services)

Councillor Schofield

- (Health and Wellbeing)

Councillor Jiva

- (Stronger Communities)

Councillor Khurram

- (Highways, Transport and Regulatory Services)

Councillor Silvester

- (Climate Change and Environment)

Non-Voting Attendees

4 Members of Labour Group

Councillor Hon

Councillor Iqbal

Councillor M. Ayub

Councillor Mort

4 Members of Major Opposition Group

Councillor Muslim

Councillor Mrs Fairclough

Councillor Morgan

Councillor Warren

1 Member of Minor Opposition Group (Liberal Democrats)

Councillor Hayes

1 Member of Minor Opposition Group (Communities First)

Councillor To Be Confirmed

1 Member of Minor Opposition Group (Farnworth and Kearsley First)

Councillor Sanders

1 Member of Minor Opposition Group (Horwich and Blackrod First)

Councillor Grant

Scrutiny Committees

Corporate and External Issues Scrutiny Committee (16) (7 Lab: 4 Con: 2 Lib Dem: 1 Communities First: 1 Farnworth and Kearsley First: 1 Horwich and Blackrod First)

Labour

Councillor Atcha

Councillor Shaikh

Councillor Iqbal

Councillor Newall

Councillor F. Khan

Councillor Barnard

Councillor Haworth

Conservative

Councillor Galloway (Chair)

Councillor Cowen

Councillor Muslim

Councillor Walsh

Liberal Democrats

Councillor Priest

Councillor Price

Communities First

Councillor Bamforth

Farnworth and Kearsley First

Councillor T. Wilkinson (Vice-Chair)

Horwich and Blackrod First

Councillor Rigby

Place Scrutiny Committee (16) (7 Lab: 4 Con: 2 Lib Dem: 1 Communities First: 1 Farnworth and Kearsley First: 1 Horwich and Blackrod First)

Labour

Councillor M. Ayub

Councillor Haworth

Councillor Morrisey

Councillor Iqbal

Councillor Barnard

Councillor Mort

Councillor McHugh

Conservative

Councillor Warren (Chair)

Councillor Walsh

Councillor Webb

Councillor Hewitt

Liberal Democrats

Councillor D. Wilkinson

Councillor Priest (Vice-Chair)

Communities First

Councillor A. Patel

Farnworth and Kearsley First

Councillor Connor-Bennett

Horwich and Blackrod First

Councillor Grant

Children's Services Scrutiny Committee (16) (7 Lab: 4 Con: 2 Lib Dem: 1 Communities First: 1 Farnworth and Kearsley First: 1 Horwich and Blackrod First)

Labour

Councillor A Khan

Councillor Hon

Councillor McHugh

Councillor F. Khan

Councillor Morrisey

Councillor S. Ali

Councillor S. Patel

Conservative

Councillor Connor

Councillor Cox

Councillor Galloway

Councillor Meehan

Liberal Democrats

Councillor McGeown (Chair)

Councillor D. Wilkinson

Communities First

Councillor Williamson (Vice-Chair)

Farnworth and Kearsley First

Councillor Crossley

Horwich and Blackrod First

Councillor Rigby

Co-Opted Members (With Voting Rights)

- 1 Church of England Diocese Representative
- 1 Roman Catholic Diocese Representative
- 2 Parent Governors

Lay Members:

Primary Head Teacher Representative Secondary Head Teacher Representative Two Representatives of Joint Teachers Panel Bolton Forum for Sport Representative Youth Council

Health Overview and Adults, Communities and Integration Scrutiny Committee (18) (7 Lab: 4 Con: 1 Lib Dem: 1 Communities First: 1 Farnworth and Kearsley First: 1 Horwich and Blackrod First)

Labour

Councillor Hon

Councillor Newall

Councillor A. Khan

Councillor Mrs. Thomas

Councillor Atcha

Councillor S. Patel

Councillor Shaikh

Conservative

Councillor Mrs. Fairclough

Councillor Taylor-Burke

Councillor Morgan

Councillor Moller

Liberal Democrats

Councillor D. Wilkinson

Councillor McGeown

Communities First

Councillor A. Patel (Chair)

Farnworth and Kearsley First

Councillor Sanders (Vice-Chair)

Horwich and Blackrod First

Councillor Wright

Lay Members:

Healthwatch Representative

Age Concern

Mrs. B. Gallagher – Bolton and District Pensioners Association

Health and Wellbeing Board (3) (2:1)

Labour

Councillor Fielding

Councillor Schofield

Conservative

Councillor Taylor-Burke

Bolton's Healthwatch (1)

Director of Children's Services

Director of Public Health

Director of Adults, Communities and Integration

Employee representative (1)

Planning Committee (16) (7 Lab: 4 Con: 2 Lib Dem: 1 Communities First: 1

Farnworth and Kearsley First: 1 Horwich and Blackrod First)

Any Member Suitably Trained Can Deputise for any Member of the Committee

Labour

Councillor S. Ali

Councillor Iqbal

Councillor M. Ayub

Councillor McHugh

Councillor Morrisey (Chair)

Councillor Newall

Councillor Mort

Conservative

Councillor Connor

Councillor Morgan

Councillor Walsh (Vice-Chair)

Councillor Galloway

Liberal Democrats

Councillor D. Wilkinson

Councillor Priest

Communities First

Councillor A. Patel

Farnworth and Kearsley First

Councillor Sanders

Horwich and Blackrod First

Councillor Grant

Licensing and Environmental Regulation Committee (12) (5 Lab: 3 Con: 1 Lib Dem: 1 Communities First: 1 Farnworth and Kearsley First: 1 Horwich and Blackrod First)

Any Member Suitably Trained Can Deputise for any Member of the Committee

Labour

Councillor Donaghy

Councillor F. Khan

Councillor Atcha

Councillor Haworth (Chair)

Councillor Schofield

Conservative

Councillor Taylor-Burke (Vice-Chair)

Councillor Meehan

Councillor Cowen

Liberal Democrats

Councillor Priest

Communities First

Councillor Moncado-Sears

Farnworth and Kearsley First

Councillor Flitcroft

Horwich and Blackrod First

Councillor Grant

Licensing Sensitive Sub-Committee (3) (2 Lab: 1 Con)

Labour

Councillor Donaghy (Chair)

Councillor Schofield

Conservative

Councillor Cowen

Licensing Traffic Sub-Committee (3) (2 Lab: 1 Con)

Labour

Councillor Haworth

Councillor Donaghy

Conservative

Councillor Taylor-Burke (Chair)

Licensing (Licensing Act 2003) and (Gambling Act 2005) Sub-Committee

To be made up of 3 members from the main Committee to deal with representations under the Licensing Act 2003 and Gambling Act 2005.

Standards Committee (16) (7 Lab: 4 Con: 2 Lib Dem: 1 Communities First: 1

Farnworth and Kearsley First: 1 Horwich and Blackrod First)

Labour

Councillor N. Ayub

Councillor Donaghy

Councillor Hon

Councillor Iqbal

Councillor Newall

Councillor Mort

Councillor McHugh

Conservative

Councillor Muslim

Councillor Mrs Fairclough

Councillor Walsh

Councillor Galloway

Liberal Democrats

Councillor Priest

Communities First

Councillor H. Alli

Farnworth and Kearsley First

Councillor Flitcroft

Horwich and Blackrod First

Councillor Rigby

Audit Committee (8) (2 Lab: 2 Con: 1 Lib Dem: 1 Communities First: 1 Farnworth and Kearsley First: 1 **Horwich and Blackrod First)**

Any Member Suitably Trained Can Deputise for any Member of the

Committee

Labour

Councillor Mort

Councillor McHugh

Conservative

Councillor Cowen

Councillor Walsh

Liberal Democrats

Councillor Hayes

Communities First

Councillor Moncado-Sears

Farnworth and Kearsley First

Councillor Sanders

Horwich and Blackrod First

Councillor Grant (Chair)

Bolton Cares Steering Committee (8) (3 Lab: 2 Con: 1 Lib Dem: 1

Communities First: 1 Farnworth and Kearsley First)

Labour

Councillor Mrs. Thomas (Chair)

Councillor Newall

Councillor Schofield (Vice-Chair)

Conservative

Councillor Warren

Councillor Morgan

Liberal Democrats

Councillor Price

Communities First

Councillor Moncado-Sears

Farnworth and Kearsley First

Councillor Crossley

Independent Remuneration Panel

Ms. M. Blenkinsop

Mr. P. Howard

Reverend Hannah Lane