

WESTHOUGHTON TOWN COUNCIL

Minutes of the meeting of Westhoughton Town Council on Tuesday 9 May 2023 at 7pm in Carnegie Hall

Present: Councillors David Chadwick, Sarita Chohan, Martyn Cox, Derek Gradwell, Anna Homfray, Ryan Hough, Alison Jackson, Alan Kaufman, Linda Maher, Neil Maher, Deirdre McGeown, Arthur Price, Christine Strawbridge, John Strawbridge, Jack Speight, Martin Tighe, David Wilkinson and Gillian Wroe

Members of the public: Alvis Younge, Jill Reynolds, Martin Kemp, Hugh Dodson

TC60/23 Fire Safety Information (Chair)

The fire safety information was read out by the Chair.

TC61/23 To read the notice convening the meeting

The notice convening the meeting was read out by the Chair.

TC62/23 The election of Town Mayor/Chair of the Council

Moved by Cllr Neil Maher, seconded by Cllr Arthur Price, that Cllr Deirdre McGeown be reappointed as Town Mayor for 2023/24.

An amendment was proposed by Cllr Jack Speight and seconded by Cllr Martyn Cox, that Cllr Martin Tighe be appointed as Town Mayor.

A vote took place on the amendment. Cllr Cox, Tighe and Speight voted for the amendment, Cllr David Chadwick and Cllr Alan Kaufman abstained and Councillors Sarita Chohan, Derek Gradwell, Anna Homfray, Ryan Hough, Alison Jackson, Linda Maher, Neil Maher, Deirdre McGeown, Arthur Price, Christine Strawbridge, John Strawbridge, David Wilkinson and Gillian Wroe voted against the amendment. The amendment was lost.

The motion for Cllr Deirdre McGeown to be Town Mayor was supported by Councillors Sarita Chohan, Martyn Cox, Derek Gradwell, Anna Homfray, Ryan Hough, Alison

Jackson, Linda Maher, Neil Maher, Deirdre McGeown, Arthur Price, Christine Strawbridge, John Strawbridge, David Wilkinson and Gillian Wroe. None against. Councillors David Chadwick, Alan Kaufman and Jack Speight abstained.

Councillor Deirdre McGeown was appointed.

TC63/23 To submit apologies for absence and to accept reasons None

TC64/23 To record Declarations of Interest from members in any item to be discussed

None

TC65/23 Vote of thanks to the retiring Town Mayor

A vote of thanks was proposed by Cllr David Wilkinson, seconded by Cllr Neil Maher.

TC66/23 The election of Deputy Town Mayor/Vice Chair of the Council Moved by Cllr Arthur Price, and seconded by Cllr John Strawbridge, that Cllr Neil Maher be appointed as Deputy Town Mayor / Vice Chair of the Council.

An amendment was moved by Cllr Jack Speight and seconded by Cllr Martyn Cox, that Cllr Martin Tighe be appointed Deputy Town Mayor. Councillor Jack Speight, Martyn Cox and Martin Tighe voted for the amendment. Councillor David Chadwick and Alan Kaufman abstained. Councillors Sarita Chohan, Derek Gradwell, Anna Homfray, Ryan Hough, Alison Jackson, Linda Maher, Neil Maher, Deirdre McGeown, Arthur Price, Christine Strawbridge, John Strawbridge, David Wilkinson and Gillian Wroe voted against. The amendment was lost.

The motion to appoint Councillor Neil Maher as Deputy Town Mayor was supported by Councillors Sarita Chohan, Derek Gradwell, Anna Homfray, Ryan Hough, Alison Jackson, Linda Maher, Neil Maher, Deirdre McGeown, Arthur Price, Christine Strawbridge, John Strawbridge, David Wilkinson and Gillian Wroe. There were none against. Councillors David Chadwick, Martyn Cox, Alan Kaufman, Jack Speight and Martin Tighe abstained.

Councillor Neil Maher was appointed.

TC67/23 Adoption of the Town Council's Standing Orders

The Standing Orders were adopted.

TC68/23 Approval of the dates of meetings for 2023/24

The dates of the meetings were approved.

Date of next meeting - Monday 15th May 2023, Annual Planning, Finance & General Purposes Committee and Town Council Meeting (combined due to the Bank Holiday)