### **WESTHOUGHTON TOWN COUNCIL**

## ANNUAL MEETING 11TH MAY, 2022

**PRESENT:** Town Mayor, Cllr Mrs LM Reilly, Deputy Town Mayor, Miss DJ McGeown and Councillors RM Brennan, DJ Bullock, Mrs AB Eckersley-Fallon, TJ Hewitt, Mrs CH Kirkman, N Maher, Miss Maley, AP Morgan, A Price, C Reilly, AM Seddon, J Speight, DA Wilkinson, Ms G Wroe and A Younge.

**ALSO PRESENT:** Members of the public

## TC73/2022 THE ELECTION OF TOWN MAYOR / CHAIRMAN OF THE COUNCIL

Resolved that Cllr Miss DJ McGeown be elected as Town Mayor and Chairman of the Council for the ensuing year.

After accepting the appointment, Cllr Miss DJ McGeown made the statutory Declaration of Acceptance of Office as Town Mayor and Chairman of the Council.

Cllr Miss DJ McGeown took over as Chairman.

#### TC74/2022 FIRE SAFETY INFORMATION

The Chairman, Cllr DJ McGeown, explained the fire safety procedure

## TC75/2022 TO SUBMIT APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE AND TO ACCEPT REASONS

Cllr M Cox - work commitments

# TC76/2022 TO RECORD DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST IN ANY ITEM TO BE DISCUSSED

There were no declarations of interest

#### TC77/2022 VOTE OF THANKS TO THE RETIRING MAYOR

The Town Council thanked the retiring Town Mayor, Cllr LM Reilly for her work during the last year.

# TC78/2022 THE ELECTION OF DEPUTY TOWN MAYOR / VICE CHAIRMAN OF THE COUNCIL

Proposed and seconded that Cllr A Younge be elected as Deputy Town Mayor / Vice Chairman of the Council for the ensuing year

**AMENDMENT** 

Proposed and seconded that Cllr J Speight be elected as Deputy Town Mayor / Vice Chairman of the Council for the ensuing year

Votes were taken, first on the amendment and then on the proposal and Cllr A Younge was elected as Deputy Town Mayor / Vice Chairman of the Council.

After accepting the appointment, Cllr A Younge made the statutory Declaration of Acceptance of Office as Deputy Town Mayor and Vice Chairman of the Council.

### HERE THE MEETING WAS ADJOURNED UNTIL 18TH MAY,2022

The meeting closed at 7.25 p.m.