

WESTHOUGHTON TOWN COUNCIL NEWSLETTER



AUTUMN 2019

COMMUNITY CAROL SERVICE

On Friday, 29th November, 2019 at 7.00 p.m., townspeople are invited to attend the Community Carol Service at the Parish Church of St Bartholomew. The Rotary Sleigh and Father Christmas will be present and Primary School choirs will perform carols. At 8.00 p.m., the Town Mayor, Cllr. David Wilkinson, will light the Christmas Tree and displays from outside the church and then refreshments will be served.

REMEMBRANCE DAY PARADE

On Remembrance Sunday, 10th November, 2019, townspeople are invited to attend the Remembrance Day Service and Parade. The Parade will assemble outside the St Bartholomew's Primary School yard, The Fairways, Westhoughton at 9.20 a.m. and will depart at 9.40 a.m. for a service at the Parish Church of St Bartholomew at 10.00 a.m., followed by a Service of Remembrance and the wreath laying at the War Memorial and a Parade.

Poppy wreaths may be purchased from the Poppy Appeal Co-ordinator, Mr George Davies tel: 01942 513352 or 07814 383 556.

CIVIC MEDAL & HAROLD DANIELS MEMORIAL TROPHY

Members of the public are invited to write to the Town Council with nominations for a Civic Medal, and the Harold Daniels Memorial Trophy which will be kept for one year. Nominees must have provided over 20 years service to Westhoughton in any field. They do not have to be residents of Westhoughton to qualify and nominations will be accepted for individuals who have been previously nominated but have not yet received an award. Nominations, giving as much detail as possible should be sent to the Town Clerk by Monday, 2nd December, 2019.

YOUNG CITIZEN OF THE YEAR AWARD

Members of the public are invited to write to the Town Council with nominations for a Young Citizen of the Year Award. Nominees must be under the age of 30 years of age inclusive and have provided service to Westhoughton in any field. They do not have to be residents of Westhoughton to qualify. Nominations, giving as much detail as possible should be sent to the Town Clerk by Monday, 2nd December, 2019.

Monday, 2nd December

PRETORIA PIT DISASTER ANNIVERSARY

Saturday, 21st December, 2019 is the 109th anniversary of the Pretoria Pit Disaster, in which 344 men and boys lost their lives and the Town Council has organised two Services of Remembrance:

At 7.40 a.m., at the Pretoria Pit Disaster Centenary Memorial, Ditchfield Garden, Market Street, Westhoughton, a short Service of Remembrance with maroons fired at 7.50 a.m., which was the time of the explosion at the Pretoria Pit.

At 10.00 a.m. at the Parish Church of St Bartholomew, the usual Service of Remembrance will take place, followed by the laying of floral tributes at the Pretoria Monument in the church yard.

ENVIRONMENTAL AWARD

Members of the public are invited to nominate an individual, voluntary group, school, church or business which enhances an area of Westhoughton by working on environmental initiatives such as planting, weeding, tidying, litter-picking etc.. Nominations, giving as much detail as possible, should be sent to the Town Clerk by Monday, 2nd December, 2019.

TOWN COUNCIL

Below are listed some of the Town Council's projects and achievements:

- 1. Funding improvements to Public Rights of Way
- 2. Funding and organising a Centenary of the Start of World War 1 Commemorative Event
- 3 Funding improvements to Local Nature Reserves
- 4. The Get Active Westhoughton Youth Project
- 5. Town Centre CCTV scheme
- 6. Town Centre Christmas Lights
- 7. Organising the Remembrance Day Parade, the Community Carol Service and two Pretoria Pit Disaster Memorial Services
- 8. Civic Medals Awards, Young Citizen of the Year Awards and Environmental Award for outstanding service to the community
- 9. Siting of Solar Powered Driver Feedback Signs
- 10. Employ a Homewatch Liaison Officer
- 11. Independent audit of the Town Council Accounts
- 12. Financial support for Daisy Hill in Bloom
- 13. Funding 50% of the cost of re-lettering the names on the World War 1 War Memorial
- 14. Funding the cost of enhancing the names on the World War 2 War Memorial
- 15. Funding a hire car for a Policing Team vehicle

WESTHOUGHTON TOWN COUNCILLORS MAY BE CONTACTED DIRECTLY

CENTRAL WARD TELEPHONE E-MAIL cllrrichardbrennan@gmail.com CIIr R M Brennan (WFI) 07941114767 Cllr Mrs C H Kirkman (Lib Dem) carol@westhoughton-libdems.org.uk neil@westhoughton-libdems.org.uk CIIr N Maher (Lib Dem) Cllr Mrs A M Seddon (Lib Dem) 07926097657 angela@westhoughton-libdems.org.uk **CHEQUERBENT WARD** Clir D J Bullock (Con), 1 Rushbank, Westhoughton, BL5 2JF 07732083631 derekbullock52@btinternet.com cllrjackspeight@hotmail.co.uk Cllr J Speight (WFI), 60 Clough Avenue, W'hton, BL5 2NQ 07977262022 DAISY HILL WARD CIIr Mrs R S M Fairhurst (Lib Dem) 07731867336 rebekah@westhoughton-libdems.org.uk Cllr Miss D J McGeown, (Lib Dem) 9 Churnet Close, W'hton, BL5 3LF 07764949922 deirdre@westhoughton-libdems.org.uk Cllr Mrs J M Nicholson (Lib Dem) janet@westhoughton-libdems.org.uk HOSKERS AND HART COMMON Cllr T J Hewitt (Con), 10 St Georges Street, Tyldesley, M29 8HH 07857649806 tobyhewitt@gmail.com Cllr Mrs L M Reilly (WFI), 1 lvy Road, Westhoughton, BL5 2NU cllrlisareilly@gmail.com Cllr D A Wilkinson (Lib Dem) 12 The Crescent, Westhoughton, BL5 2AE 01942 819456 david@westhoughton-libdems.org.uk WHITE HORSE WARD Cllr M Cox (Con), 1 Regent Drive, Lostock, Bolton, BL6 4DH martyn.cox@bolton.gov.uk 07802935406 Cllr Miss M Maley, (WFI), 306 Wigan Road, W'hton, BL5 2AR cllrmarinamaley@gmail.com Clir A P Morgan (Con), 34 Corner Brook, Bolton, BL6 4GX 01942 804080 andrew.morgan@bolton.gov.uk Cllr C Reilly (WFI), 1 Ivy Road, Westhoughton, BL5 2NU cllrcharliereilly@gmail.com **WINGATES WARD** Cllr Mrs A B Eckersley-Fallon (Lib Dem), 07500016523 bernadette@westhoughton-libdems.org.uk

michelle@westhoughton-libdems.org.uk

ATTENDANCE: AM-Annual Meeting /ATM-Annual Town Meeting /P-Planning /TC-Town Council

Cllr Mrs M E M O'Riordan (Lib Dem)

COUNCILLOR	MAY				JUNE P TC		JULY P TC		AUG P TC		SEP P TC		OCT P TC	NOV P TC	DEC P&TC	JAN P TC	FEB P TC	MAR P TC	APR P TC
	AM ATM P&AM																		
CONSERVATIVE																			
D J Bullock	0	0	0	0	0	1	1	1	0	1	1	0							
M Cox	1	1	1	1	1	1	1	0	0	0	1	0							
T J Hewitt	1	1	1	1	0	1	0	0	1	0	0	0							
A P Morgan	1	0	0	0	1	1	1	1	0	0	0	0							
WESTHOUGHTON FIRST	IND	EPE	NDE	NTS															
R M Brennan	1	0	0	0	1	0	1	1	1	1	0	0							
Miss M Maley	1	1	1	1	1	1	1	0	1	1	1	1							
C Reilly	1	1	1	1	1	1	0	1	1	1	1	1							
Mrs L M Reilly	1	1	0	0	1	1	0	0	1	0	1	0							
J Speight	1	1	0	1	0	1	0	1	0	1	0	1							
LIBERAL DEMOCRAT																			
Mrs A B Eckersley-Fallon	1	0	0	0	1	1	0	0	0	1	0	1							
Miss R S M Fairhurst	1	1	1	1	0	1	1	0	0	1	1	1							
Mrs C H Kirkman	1	0	0	0	1	1	1	0	1	1	1	1							
N Maher	1	1	1	1	1	0	1	1	0	0	1	1							
Miss D J McGeown	1	1	1	1	1	0	1	1	1	1	1	1							
Mrs J M Nicholson	1	1	1	1	1	1	1	1	0	1	0	1							
Mrs M E M O'Riordan	1	1	1	1	1	1	1	0	0	1	1	1							
Mrs A M Seddon	1	1	1	1	1	1	1	1	1	0	0	1							
D A Wilkinson	1	1	1	1	1	1	1	1	1	1	0	1							

From May, 2019, Cllr J Speight is not a member of the Planning and Finance & General Purposes Committee