

# WESTHOUGHTON TOWN COUNCIL NEWSLETTER



## **SUMMER 2019**

#### **TOWN MAYOR 2019-2020**

Councillor David Wilkinson was appointed as Town Mayor of Westhoughton on 13th May, 2019. The Town Mayor will be available to attend functions throughout the town and invitations should be directed to the Town Clerk.

#### **DAISY HILL IN BLOOM COMMITTEE**

The Town Council is pleased to support the Daisy Hill in Bloom Committee with £1,000 funding. The Committee comprises of Town Councillors and members of the public, and organises planting and tidying sessions in Daisy Hill. Members of the public are welcome to join the Committee or help with the planting and tidying sessions. Details are available on: daisyhillinbloom@outlook.com

The Committee is currently organising a

"Sunflower Competition" and photographs of impressive sunflowers, stating the height, name, address and telephone number of the entrant should be e-mailed to daisyhillinbloom@outlook.com

## **TOWN COUNCIL GRANTS**

Grants of up to £500 are available to voluntary groups and organisations and larger grants may be awarded in very exceptional circumstances. Application Forms are available from the Town Clerk.

#### RENOVATION OF LOCAL NATURE RESERVES

The Town Council recognises the importance of public green spaces and is donating £7,000 towards the cost of repairs to Local Nature Reserves in Westhoughton and the Bolton Council is arranging the work.

### **SUMMER PLAY SCHEMES**

Bolton Council is organising activities and play schemes throughout the Bolton area during the school holidays. Contact details are: Eatock Way, Daisy Hill 01204 338190, Overflow Car Park/Ditchfield Car Park—01204 338190.

Westhoughton Community Leisure Centre and Swimming Pool is also open in the daytime during the school holidays. For information on activities and events please contact Tel: 01942 634810

### **TOWN COUNCIL ELECTIONS**

Town Council elections were held on Thursday, 2nd May, 2019. A list of the newly elected Town Councillors is on the reverse of the Newsletter and Town Councillors can be contacted directly.

## **CCTV AND HOMEWATCH**

The Town Council is committed to crime prevention and it funds the Town Centre CCTV Scheme and employs a Homewatch Liaison Officer . The Homewatch Liaison Officer organises Homewatch Meetings, assists with the formation of new Homewatch Schemes and supports existing Homewatch Schemes. Homewatch Signs are funded and sited by Bolton Council. If you are interested in forming a Homewatch Scheme or have any queries regarding Homewatch, please contact the Homewatch Liaison Officer, Mr K Jackson Tel: 0790 403 8176

#### **TOWN COUNCIL**

Below are listed some of the Town Council's projects and achievements:

- 1. Funding improvements to Public Rights of Way
- 2. Funding and organising a Centenary of the Start of World War 1 Commemorative Event
- 3 Funding improvements to Local Nature Reserves
- 4. The Get Active Westhoughton Youth Project
- 5. Town Centre CCTV scheme
- 6. Town Centre Christmas Lights
- 7. Organising the Remembrance Day Parade, the Community Carol Service and two Pretoria Pit Disaster Memorial Services
- 8. Civic Medals Awards, Young Citizen of the Year Awards and Environmental Award for outstanding service to the community
- 9. Siting of Solar Powered Driver Feedback Signs
- 10. Employ a Homewatch Liaison Officer
- 11. Independent audit of the Town Council Accounts with no matters requiring attention
- 12. Financial support for Daisy Hill in Bloom
- 13. Funding 50% of the cost of re-lettering the names on the World War 1 War Memorial
- 14. Funding the cost of enhancing the names on the World War 2 War Memorial
- 15. Funding a hire car for a Policing Team Vehicle
- 16. Funding plants and the ongoing maintenance of planters on Market Street

Newsletter published by Westhoughton Town Council. Please contact Mrs C Morris, Town Clerk, Town Hall, Westhoughton, BL5 3AW. Tel: 01942 819802 E-Mail - westhoughtontc@tiscali.co.uk For further information on Westhoughton Town Council, please visit our Web Site: www.bolton.gov.uk/westhoughton

#### WESTHOUGHTON TOWN COUNCILLORS MAY BE CONTACTED DIRECTLY

CENTRAL WARD	TELEPHONE	E-MAIL
CIIr R M Brennan (WFI)	07941114767	cllrrichardbrennan@gmail.com
Cllr Mrs C H Kirkman (Lib Dem)		carol@westhoughton-libdems.org.uk
Cllr N Maher (Lib Dem)		neil@westhoughton-libdems.org.uk
Cllr Mrs A M Seddon (Lib Dem)	07926097657	angela@westhoughton-libdems.org.uk
CHEQUERBENT WARD		
Cllr D J Bullock (Con), 1 Rushbank, Westhoughton , BL5 2JF	07732083631	derekbullock52@btinternet.com
Cllr J Speight (WFI), 60 Clough Avenue, W'hton, BL5 2NQ	07977262022	cllrjackspeight@hotmail.co.uk
DAISY HILL WARD		
Cllr Mrs R S M Fairhurst (Lib Dem)	07731867336	rebekah@westhoughton-libdems.org.uk
Cllr Miss D J McGeown, (Lib Dem) 9 Churnet Close, W'hton, BL5 3LF	07764949922	deirdre@westhoughton-libdems.org.uk
Cllr Mrs J M Nicholson (Lib Dem)		janet@westhoughton-libdems.org.uk
HOSKERS AND HART COMMON		
Cllr T J Hewitt (Con), 10 St Georges Street, Tyldesley, M29 8HH	07857649806	tobyhewitt@gmail.com
Cllr Mrs L M Reilly ( WFI), 1 Ivy Road, Westhoughton, BL5 2NU		cllrlisareilly@gmail.com
Cllr D A Wilkinson (Lib Dem) 12 The Crescent, Westhoughton, BL5 2AE	01942 819456	david@westhoughton-libdems.org.uk
WHITE HORSE WARD		
Cllr M Cox ( Con) , 1 Regent Drive, Lostock, Bolton, BL6 4DH	07802935406	martyn.cox@bolton.gov.uk
Cllr Miss M Maley, (WFI), 306 Wigan Road, W'hton, BL5 2AR		cllrmarinamaley@gmail.com
Cllr A P Morgan (Con), 34 Corner Brook, Bolton, BL6 4GX	01942 804080	
Cllr C Reilly (WFI), 1 Ivy Road, Westhoughton, BL5 2NU		cllrcharliereilly@gmail.com
WINGATES WARD		
Cllr Mrs A B Eckersley-Fallon (Lib Dem),	07500016523	bernadette@westhoughton-libdems.org.uk
Cllr Mrs M E M O'Riordan (Lib Dem)		michelle@westhoughton-libdems.org.uk

#### ATTENDANCE: AM-Annual Meeting /ATM-Annual Town Meeting /P-Planning /TC-Town Council

COUNCILLOR	MAY				JUNE		JULY		AUG	SEP	ост	NOV	DEC	JAN	FEB	MAR	APR
		AM ATM		P & AM		тс	P TC		P TC	P TC	P TC	P TC	P&TC	P TC	P TC	P TC	Р ТС
CONSERVATIVE																	
D J Bullock	0	0	0	0	0	1	1	1									
M Cox	1	1	1	1	1	1	1	0									
T J Hewitt	1	1	1	1	0	1	0	0									
A P Morgan	1	0	0	0	1	1	1	1									
WESTHOUGHTON FIRST	INDEPENDENTS																
R M Brennan	1	0	0	0	1	0	1	1									
Miss M Maley	1	1	1	1	1	1	1	0									
C Reilly	1	1	1	1	1	1	0	1									
Mrs L M Reilly	1	1	0	0	1	1	0	0									
J Speight	1	1	0	1	0	1	0	1									
LIBERAL DEMOCRAT																	
Mrs A B Eckersley-Fallon	1	0	0	0	1	1	0	0									
Miss R S M Fairhurst	1	1	1	1	0	1	1	0									
Mrs C H Kirkman	1	0	0	0	1	1	1	0									
N Maher	1	1	1	1	1	0	1	1									
Miss D J McGeown	1	1	1	1	1	0	1	1									
Mrs J M Nicholson	1	1	1	1	1	1	1	1									
Mrs M E M O'Riordan	1	1	1	1	1	1	1	0									
Mrs A M Seddon	1	1	1	1	1	1	1	1									
D A Wilkinson	1	1	1	1	1	1	1	1									

From May, 2019, Cllr J Speight is not a member of the Planning and Finance & General Purposes Committee