Picture of collection vehicle

Bolton is one of nine collection authorities in Greater Manchester alongside Bury, Manchester, Oldham, Rochdale, Salford, Stockport, Tameside and Trafford.

The disposal of waste collected by the nine authorities is the responsibility of Greater Manchester Waste Disposal Authority (GMWDA). The GMWDA was one of six authorities created under the Local Government Act 1985 to carry out the waste management functions and duties of the Metropolitan County Councils after their abolition in 1986.

GMWDA and the nine partner authorities have formulated a Municipal Waste Management Strategy (MWMS) based on joint working and a integrated waste management system; driven by a fundamental desire to change waste into useable resources, to minimise the generation of waste and to maximise recycling and composting.

Bolton has been instrumental in the development of, and is committed to, the Greater Manchester municipal waste management strategy. 

Bolton is currently in the process of developing a waste and recycling strategy which will incorporate the GMWDA waste strategy and the national waste strategy 2007.

Waste and Recycling

Wellington House

Wellington Street



Telephone 01204 336632 (Residents)
Telephone 01204 336633 (Residents)
View map

Opening times

Times are displayed in a 24 hour format.

Open Close

Upcoming activities

Upcoming events