The dates and times of meetings of the Council, The Cabinet, Executive Cabinet Members, Committees and Area Forums can be found on the Committee Information Management System (see Links tab).

Meetings of Executive Cabinet Members are not open to the press and public (in accordance with Section 13 of the Local Authorities (Executive Arrangements) (Meetings Access and Information) Regulations 2012). However, agendas and reports for these meetings are available via the Committee Management Information System.

Meetings of the Cabinet, Committees and Area Forums will be open to the press and public unless the nature of the business to be discussed is considered exempt as defined in schedule 12A of the Local Government Act 1972.

Those items considered confidential which will be considered by the Cabinet at its meeting will be advertised via the Council's Forward Plan (see Links Tab) and instructions as to how representations can be made as to why the matter should be considered in public are contained therein.

How decisions are made

(a) The Council:

The Council is made up of all 60 Councillors and it:

  • decides the constitution; 
  • agrees policy framework;  
  • agrees the budget; and  
  • appoints the Leader for a term determined by the Council.

(b) The Leader:

The Leader determines the size of the Cabinet and appoints members of the Cabinet and determines the arrangements for delegation of the Cabinet functions. The Leader also appoints a member of the Cabinet as a Deputy Leader who will act in the Leader's absence.

(c) The Cabinet:

The Cabinet is made up of the Leader of the Council, the Deputy Leader and two Executive Cabinet Members.

Its main role is to:-

  • implement the policies agreed by the Council;  
  • give political leadership; 
  • propose policy framework to the Council; 
  • propose the budget to the Council; and 
  • make recommendations to the Council on broad policy issues.

Executive Cabinet Members

The Leader and the other Executive Cabinet Members:

  • work within an overall policy framework set by the Council;  
  • have individual responsibility for key areas of work known as portfolios;  
  • are accountable for their decisions which they take either as individuals or as the collective Cabinet.

The Executive Cabinet Members and their Portfolios are as follows:-

  • Councillor Mrs Thomas (Leader of Council) - Executive Cabinet Member - Leader’s Portfolio
  • Councillor Mrs Thomas - Executive Cabinet Member - Deputy Leader’s Portfolio
  • Councillor Peel - Executive Cabinet Member for Environmental Services 
  • Councillor Adia - Executive Cabinet Member for Regeneration and Resources 

The Leader has also appointed 8 Cabinet Members who are responsible for the following areas:-


Councillor Responsibilities 
Councillor Murray    Adult Safeguarding and Adult Social Care
Councillor Cunliffe Education, Schools, Safeguarding and Looked After Children
Councillor Sherrington Anti-Poverty and Housing
Councillor Zaman Development and Regeneration and Human Resources
Councillor Watters Social Inclusion, Voluntary Sector and Community Services and Skills
Councillor J. Byrne Culture, Youth and Sport
Councillor Chadwick Transport and Highways
Councillor D. Burrows Neighbourhood Services, Police and Community Safety

The Cabinet Members make recommendations to the relevant Executive Cabinet Member who then decides whether to follow the recommendations.

(d) Non-executive Councillors:

The remaining Councillors are non-executive councillors and they:

  • represent their wards and hold surgeries as usual;  
  • spend time in their area finding out what concerns people most;  
  • take part in area forums helping to decide priorities;  
  • influence the key decision makers by proposing changes to policies or budgets;  
  • help to choose how area budgets are spent; and  
  • serve, with Cabinet Members, on committees for planning control and licensing and environmental regulations.

(e) Area Forums:

The Council, at present, has 18 Area Forums as follows ;-

  • Astley Bridge Area Forum
  • Bradshaw Area Forum
  • Breightmet Area Forum
  • Bromley Cross Area Forum
  • Crompton Area Forum
  • Farnworth Area Forum
  • Great Lever Area Forum
  • Halliwell Area Forum
  • Harper Green Area Forum
  • Heaton and Lostock Area Forum
  • Hulton Area Forum
  • Kearsley Area Forum
  • Little Lever and Darcy Lever Area Forum
  • Rumworth Area Forum
  • Smithills Area Forum
  • Tonge with the Haulgh Area Forum
  • Two Towns Area Forum
  • Westhoughton with Chew Moor Area Forum

Area Forums:

  • host informal sessions at each meeting to let the public question members and departmental managers and receive feedback;  
  • decide local priorities;  
  • allocate its own budget to small scale projects;and  
  • influence the Council in the development and implementation of policy. 

(f) Scrutiny Committees:

The Council, at present, has three Scrutiny Committees:

  • Corporate, Culture and External Issues Scrutiny Committee
  • Environmental Services Scrutiny Committee
  • Health Overview, Adult Services and Children's Services Scrutiny Committee

Scrutiny Committees hold the Cabinet to account by:

  • challenging policies and budget allocations;  
  • challenging decisions made by portfolio holders;  
  • recommending changes to decisions;   
  • make recommendations to the Cabinet/Executive Cabinet Members;
  • monitor and challenge performance;
  • consider any councillor calls for action; and
  • working with partner authorities to improve local improvement targets. 

They can also create Scrutiny Panels which scrutinise issues in depth.

(g) Planning Committee:

Exercises the functions of the Council as local planning authority.

(h) Licensing and Environmental Regulations Committeeand its Sub-Committees:

Exercises the functions of the Council relating to Licensing matters and Environmental Regulations in respect of Environmental Protection, Environmental Health, Animal Health, Trading Standards and Consumer Protection.

(i) Standards Committee:

Promotes and maintains high standards of conduct by Councillors, co-opted members and church and parent governor representatives.

(j) Health and Wellbeing Board:

The Local Authority in conjunction with the Clinical Commissioning Group (CCG) and representatives from other organisations prepare Joint Strategic Needs Assessments and Joint Health and Wellbeing Strategies and encourage integrated working between health and social care commissioners.

To view the agendas, reports and minutes of any meetings of the above please go to the Committee Management Information System.


Democratic Services

Second Floor

Town Hall

Victoria Square



Telephone 01204 331036
View map

Opening times

Times are displayed in a 24 hour format.

Open Close

Upcoming activities

Upcoming events