New youth MPs to be revealed 


Bolton’s new Youth MPs will be revealed on Wednesday, April 14, at Bolton Town Hall.

Voting has been taking place for the last month for eight candidates aged between 11 and 18, with thousands of votes cast by young people across the borough.

The results, taking place from 5pm until 7pm, will be held at the Council Chambers, with the winners likely to be announced at 5.30pm.

Elected Youth MPs will learn about the needs, interests and concerns of young people on both a local and national level. They will lobby parliament as part of the national UK Youth Parliament group and sit on the Bolton Children’s Trust.

Youth MPs are apolitical, as the UK Youth Parliament is an independent group, so MPs will focus on issues affecting young people in the borough rather than party politics.

The new elected Youth MPs will take over from last year’s successful MPs, Wangu Chafuwa and Christie Fisher, who represented Bolton at the Greater Manchester Passenger Transport Executive Youth Forum, hosted health awareness events in secondary schools and helped the Bolton Cash Panel to distribute £350,000 to different youth groups.

Councillor Ebrahim Adia, Executive Member for Children’s Services, said: “Hundreds of votes have been cast for all the candidates, and I would like to wish everyone involved the best of luck.

“Being a youth MP is not only a great introduction to the world of politics, but also gives young people a real opportunity to make sure their opinions are heard, both in the borough and beyond.”

View all news articles

Media contact
George Wright
01204 331023